Log in

Charles L. Sommers Alumni Association, Inc.

Log in

George D. Hedrick Volunteer Service Award

Created in 1995 and awarded by the Charles L. Sommers Alumni Association, Inc. (SAA)'s Board of Directors, the George D. Hedrick Volunteer Service Award recognizes individuals whose service and dedication to the Northern Tier National High Adventure Program is noteworthy in terms of both its impact and/or duration. The award honors former Region Ten Executive and ardent Canoe Base supporter, George Hedrick.

Recipients are presented with a plaque, as well as having their names inscribed on a permanent plaque, which hangs in the Charles L. Sommers Lodge.   Additionally, those recipients who are registered BSA members are entitled to wear the Community Organization Award (COA) square knot on their Scout uniform.

Nominations may be submitted to the SAA Board of Directors using the Hedrick Volunteer Service Award Nomination Form.

Award Recipients

Year Name
1995 Robert "Red" Renner
1996 Allan Batterman
1997 Craig Pendergraft
1998 Ed Chapin
1998 Gene Felton
1999 Henry Bradlich


Cherie Bridges
2000 Dick Shank
2001 Mike Holdgrafer
2002 Butch Diesslin
2003 Bob Cary
2004 Don Melander
2004 Jack Osborn
2006 Bill Erickson
2008 David M. Hyink
2012 Real Berard
2012 Nigel Cooper
2012 Cory Kolodji
2012 Michael McMahon
2016 Alex Nepple
2016 Allen Rench
2019 Jim Barott
2019 Charles Rose
2021 Owen Gibbs
2021 Karl Huemiller
2021 Joseph Mattson
2021 Craig Reichow
2023 Donald MacDonald
2023 Jim Varcho
2024Randy Childers
2024 Steve Niedorf
2024 Rolland White
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software